What's New

December 5, 2016

On November 4, 2016, pursuant to section 42 of the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board Act, the Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Public Services and Procurement tabled the 2015-2016 annual reports for the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board (PSLREB) and the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act (PESRA).

The PSLREB Annual Report is available on its website at http://pslreb-crtefp.gc.ca/about/reports/2015-2016/PSLREB/documents/PSLREB_Annual_Report_2015-2016-eng.pdf and the PESRA Annual Report at http://pslreb-crtefp.gc.ca/about/reports/2015-2016/PSLREB/documents/PSLREB-PESRA_Annual_Report_2015-2016-eng.pdf.

November 24, 2016

The Dispute Resolution Services is offering new dates for its Interest-Based Negotiations and Mediation Training (English and French). Please go to the following link for more detail.

Interest-Based Negotiation and Mediation Training (Labour Relations)

November 3, 2016

Holiday Period (2016-2017)

The Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board (the Board) will suspend all timeframes for complaints, grievances and board matters between December 23, 2016, and January 3, 2017, inclusively. In other words, the days during the holiday period will NOT count for the purpose of calculating deadlines. The calculation of time limits will resume on January 4, 2017.

The following examples illustrate how to calculate timeframes during the holiday period:

Example 1

The complainant’s allegations involving a staffing complaint are received on December 9, 2016, thus triggering the 15-day period for the deputy head’s reply. Since day 13 of the 15-day period is December 22nd, day 14 would fall on the day following the holiday period, January 4, 2017. Therefore, the deputy head’s reply would be due on January 5, 2017 (day 15).

December 2016
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
          9
10
Day 1
11
Day 2
12
Day 3
13
Day 4
14
Day 5
15
Day 6
16
Day 7
17
Day 8
18
Day 9
19
Day 10
20
Day 11
21
Day 12
22
Day 13
23
X
24
X
25
X
26
X
27
X
28
X
29
X
30
X
31
X
January 2017
1
X
2
X
3
X
4
Day 14
5
Day 15
   

Example 2

A notice of a reference to adjudication is acknowledged on December 15, 2016, triggering the 15-day period for the respondent’s reply. Since day 7 is December 22nd, day 8 would fall on the day following the holiday period, January 4, 2017. Therefore, the respondent’s response would be due on January 11, 2017 (day 15).

December 2016
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
        15
16
Day 1
17
Day 2
18
Day 3
19
Day 4
20
Day 5
21
Day 6
22
Day 7
23
X
24
X
25
X
26
X
27
X
28
X
29
X
30
X
31
X
January 2017
1
X
2
X
3
X
4
Day 8
5
Day 9
6
Day 10
7
Day 11
8
Day 12
9
Day 13
10
Day 14
11
Day 15
     

May 17, 2016

On January 16, 2015, in Mounted Police Association of Ontario v. Canada (Attorney General), 2015 SCC 1, the Supreme Court of Canada found at para. 158 that key parts of the then current RCMP labour relations regime were unconstitutional under subsection 2(d) of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms:


. . . Paragraph (d) of the definition of "employee" in s. 2(1) of the PSLRA is of no force or effect pursuant to s. 52 of the Constitution Act, 1982. We suspend the declaration of invalidity for a period of 12 months.


The 12-month suspension was extended by an extra 4 months, which expired on May 16, 2016. As of May 17, 2016, "…a person who is a member or special constable of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police or who is employed by that force under terms and conditions substantially the same as those of one of its members" is an employee for the purposes of the Public Service Labour Relations Act.

If you want to learn more about labour relations, grievances and complaints please refer to PSLREB's Labour Relations Services and Fact Sheets sections on our web site.

The PSLREB is committed to resolving labour relations issues in an impartial manner.

Quoi de neuf

Le 5 décembre 2016

Le 4 novembre 2016, en vertu de l’article 42 de la Loi sur la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique, le secrétaire parlementaire de la ministre des Services publics et de l’Approvisionnement a déposé les rapports annuels 2015-16 de la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique (CRTEFP) et de la loi sur les relations de travail au parlement (LRTP).

Le rapport annuel de la CRTEFP est disponible sur son site web à http://pslreb-crtefp.gc.ca/about/reports/2015-2016/PSLREB/documents/PSLREB_Annual_Report_2015-2016-fra.pdf et celui sur la LRTP à http://pslreb-crtefp.gc.ca/about/reports/2015-2016/PSLREB/documents/PSLREB-PESRA_Annual_Report_2015-2016-fra.pdf.

Le 24 novembre 2016

Les services de règlement des conflits offre de nouvelles dates pour la formation en négociation raisonnée et médiation (anglais et français). Veuillez consulter le lien suivant pour plus de détails.

Formation en négociation raisonnée et en médiation (relations de travail)

Le 3 novembre 2016

Période des fêtes (2016-2017)

La Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique (CRTEFP) suspendra tous les délais pour les dossiers de plaintes, de griefs et d’affaires de la CRTEFP pendant la période des fêtes, c’est-à-dire du 23 décembre 2016 au 3 janvier 2017 inclusivement. En d’autres termes, l’établissement des dates limites NE tiendra PAS compte des journées écoulées durant ce lapse de temps. Les délais recommenceront à courir le 4 janvier 2017.

Les exemples ci-dessous servent à illustrer le mode de computation des délais :

Exemple 1

Les allégations d’un plaignant concernant une plainte en dotation sont reçues le 9 décembre 2016, déclenchant ainsi la période de 15 jours durant laquelle l’administrateur général devra fournir sa réponse. Puisque le 22 décembre sera le 13e jour de cette étape, le 14e jour serait le premier jour suivant la période des fêtes, soit le 4 janvier 2017. Par conséquent, la réponse de l’administrateur général ne sera exigible que le 5 janvier 2017 (jour 15).

Décembre 2016
dimanche lundi mardi mercredi jeudi vendredi samedi
          9
10
Jour 1
11
Jour 2
12
Jour 3
13
Jour 4
14
Jour 5
15
Jour 6
16
Jour 7
17
Jour 8
18
Jour 9
19
Jour 10
20
Jour 11
21
Jour 12
22
Jour 13
23
X
24
X
25
X
26
X
27
X
28
X
29
X
30
X
31
X
January 2017
1
X
2
X
3
X
4
Jour 14
5
Jour 15
   

Exemple 2

La CRTEFP accuse réception d’un avis de renvoi d’un grief à l’arbitrage le 15 décembre 2016. Le défendeur dispose donc de 15 jours pour y répondre. Puisque le 22 décembre sera le 7e jour de cette étape, le 8e jour serait le premier jour suivant la période des fêtes, soit le 4 janvier 2017. La réponse du défendeur sera donc exigible le 11 janvier 2017 (jour 15).

Décembre 2016
dimanche lundi mardi mercredi jeudi vendredi samedi
        15
16
Jour 1
17
Jour 2
18
Jour 3
19
Jour 4
20
Jour 5
21
Jour 6
22
Jour 7
23
X
24
X
25
X
26
X
27
X
28
X
29
X
30
X
31
X
January 2017
1
X
2
X
3
X
4
Jour 8
5
Jour 9
6
Jour 10
7
Jour 11
8
Jour 12
9
Jour 13
10
Jour 14
11
Jour 15
     

Le 17 mai 2016

Le 16 janvier 2015, au paragr. 158 de la décision Association de la police montée de l’Ontario c. Canada (Procureur général), 2015 CSC 1, la Cour suprême du Canada a conclu que les parties essentielles du régime de relations de travail de l’époque de la GRC étaient inconstitutionnelles en vertu de l’alinéa 2d) de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés :


[…] L’alinéa d) de la définition de « fonctionnaire » qui figure au par. 2(1) de la LRTFP actuelle est inopérant en application de l’art. 52 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982. Nous suspendons la prise d’effet de la déclaration d’invalidité pour 12 mois.


La suspension de douze mois a été prolongée de quatre mois et est venue à échéance le 16 mai 2016. À compter du 17 mai 2016, « […] toute personne “qui est membre ou gendarme auxiliaire de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, ou y est employée sensiblement aux mêmes conditions que ses membres” » est un fonctionnaire aux fins de la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique.

Si vous souhaitez en apprendre davantage sur les relations de travail, les griefs et les plaintes, veuillez consulter les sections Services des relations de travail et Fiches d'information de notre site web.

La CRTEFP s’engage à régler les questions de relations de travail d’une manière impartiale.